Lifestyle Before Medication

A pharmacist's perspective on health and metabolic disease

Hyperinsulinaemia: The unifying theory of chronic disease?

I got some amazing news yesterday.  A manuscript submitted to the journal “Diabesity” was accepted.  You can read it here.  Diabesity is a new journal, but it is Open access, so anyone can read the articles in it.

In summary, high insulin levels are not only linked to diabetes and heart disease, but also to cancer, osteoporosis, inflammation and many other conditions.  This review may be one of the first journal articles that has tried to pull all of these conditions together.  I suspect there are other conditions that are also implicated to hyperinsulinaemia, but I may not have found sufficient evidence to have them in the review.

Over the next couple of weeks, I’ll try and rewrite some of the processes into less ‘academic’ language.  Drop me a line if there any you want prioritised.

A big thanks to Prof Grant Schofield (www.profgrant.com), Dr Caryn Zinn (NZ dietician) and Dr Mark Wheldon who kept me on the straight and narrow with this article.   Ultimately, any mistakes are mine.

This online article has not yet been fully proofed.  I’ll be doing that this week.  In the meantime, if you spot any, please let me know so I can get them fixed.

Cheers,

Catherine

 

14 comments on “Hyperinsulinaemia: The unifying theory of chronic disease?

  1. Pingback: The Gingerbread Man | Lifestyle Before Medication

  2. Prof Tim Noakes
    January 1, 2016

    Congratulations Catherine. This is a very important contribution to the literature.I wish you great success as you take your message to the world. You are right and time will prove this so. All the best to Caryn and Grant – you are Kiwis quietly changing the World! Tim Noakes

    Liked by 4 people

  3. Pingback: Are carbohydrates the new cigarettes? (Part 1) | Lifestyle Before Medication

  4. Pingback: Hyperinsulinaemia: Best management practice | Lifestyle Before Medication

  5. Mark Cucuzzella
    June 6, 2016

    Amazing article Catherine . congrats and thank you for these efforts. From an american MD runner with A1c 6.3 not making much insulin. years of IR and high insulin i think has taken toll and now resetting. been low carb 5 years and feel great and all other markers perfect. this article explains a lot

    Liked by 1 person

  6. supatrawalker
    October 18, 2016

    Catherine, when are you going to do a Nina Teicholz and get this crucial message out there in a more accessible form i.e. a BOOK! As a BC survivor (twice) I now firmly believe that hyperinsulinemia, more than any other risk factor, played an enormous part. I am adverse to fundamentalism and evangelizing in any guise but I am beyond convinced that getting the message out there is key to empowering people. Believe me, there is nothing more disempowering than a cancer diagnosis when it appears to come out of left field, so to speak.

    Like

    • pharmacistcatherine
      October 19, 2016

      Thanks for the encouragement. I have just written one book (i.e. thesis) and I’m not quite sure that I can write another at this point! What do you think I should include?

      Like

  7. Richard Andrews
    June 20, 2017

    I recently saw you talk of your excellent research on insulin/insulin resistance in an interview with one of the young men who organized the KetoSummit presentations. During your interview, you put up an amazingly informative diagram describing the various intricacies of insulin, glucose, glycogen, etc with 5 major organs/organelles involved: pancreas top center, with liver and adipose to the left and right, with a blood vessel and muscle fibers below. Unfortunately, I have not been able to find that illustration anywhere online; in the video, the labels were too blurry to be read.
    i would so appreciate having that diagram to refer to. I was very fortunate to find a Dr. John Day online, who insisted that T2Diab. could be reversed, simply by eliminating the crappy carbs from my diet, which I immediately did and dropped almost 50 pounds within 4 months. My A1C went from 6.8 to 6.0 and hopefully has stayed there. Now I need to lose about 80 more lbs. to possibly reverse AFib, which also was a direct result of becoming profoundly obese.
    My email appears below. The illustration is strictly for my own use in researching the several other co-morbidities I have acquired. Thanks for all you are doing. Earth can never have enough angels!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Kurt Van de Heijning
    October 24, 2017

    Hi
    where can i find a copy of your thesis ?
    As a senior GP working in a group of 9 I need hard medical evidence ( especial about diagnostic criteria ) to convince my collegues about the importance of hyperinsulinaemia ( off which I am certain )
    As almost whole medical world they too are stuck with the diagnostical rules about DT2. I did also for 30 y but a whole different world went open from the moment I realised its all about insulin en not about glucose.
    Kurt V D Heijning

    Liked by 2 people

  9. additional hints
    March 24, 2019

    Hey would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re working with?
    I’m planning to start my own blog soon but I’m having a difficult time selecting between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal.

    The reason I ask is because your design and style seems different
    then most blogs and I’m looking for something completely unique.

    P.S Sorry for getting off-topic but I had to ask!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on November 26, 2015 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , .

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 652 other subscribers